top of page

Magnificent Meats

There are times when a nut cutlet just won't cut it.


I once asked for a side of sausage, nduja sausage to be precise - we were in a pizzeria. The server clearly thought me potty. I am, but I had eaten vegetarian for a clear fortnight, and it was time to sink my teeth into something's flesh.


The German noun, 'Fleisch' reminds us just exactly what we are eating, and it is important to remember to honour the beast you eat, because it has ultimately given up its life for your stomach.


That is why, folks, I urge you, where possible, to buy the best that you can possibly afford. Organic, yes, but humanely treated is the key. This standard varies between countries, so free range, pasture raised - all these terms and more give you an indication of the creatures' lives before they met with our mouths.


So let us not necessarily all be vegans BUT can we veganize the meat? If it is, as experts say, better for the plane to eat less meat, why not 'vegetable' down our meat so that those that want, or need, get to eat the meat they crave but also do a little good for the planet (and their bodies!) too?


I recently cooked my husband up a rocking beef plate pie; only 1 day later did he discover that half the content was puy lentils! It can be done! And so much all the easier when using quality meat, I promise you!


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Beef and Pumpkin Stew

Delicious and nutritious! This stew yields a naturally thick and delicious gravy without the need for artificial enhancers! Bon appetit!...

Comentarios


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page