top of page

Zingy Vegan Lemon Curd

It's my birthday, tomorrow (Happy Birthday to me! Happy birthday to me! Happy...)


So I am baking today to enjoy yummy food tomorrow. Baking a bread as I type, with my vegan curd already made to spread on top. Yummo!


This quantity yields 2 regular sized jam jars or 1 small Kilner jar.

The turmeric is to add colour. Since this is vegan, the yellow would otherwise come from your egg yolks. Turmeric is no bad thing, however; it has many health giving qualities, but do go easy - when I say a 'pinch', I mean just that. Too much will make your curd bitter :(


Ingredients

  • 4 lemons - zest + juice

  • 3 tbsps cornstarch aka cornflour

  • 1/3 cup water (replace with lemon juice if you really like it zingy)

  • 1 cup sugar

  • 1/4 cup vegan milk (I use almond)

  • 1/4 cup (1/2 stick) of butter (vegan or not if you're not necessarily vegan)

  • a pinch of turmeric

Method


  1. Zest your lemons straight into a small pan together with cornstarch and pinch of turmeric.

  2. Add water to your pan and stir with a balloon whisk to thoroughly combine.

  3. Add the sugar and lemon juice and whisk to thoroughly combine.

  4. Over a medium heat but constantly watching and whisking, heat your lemon mixture until it becomes a gelatinous custard.

  5. Add the milk and butter and stir thoroughly to combine.

  6. Pour directly in to your sterilized or brand new jam jars or Kilner jar.

  7. Wait until cold to place into fridge, where your curd pots will keep happily for 3 weeks. Probably longer, tbh; I'm not judging.


2 views0 comments

Коментарі


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page